ACTIVITIES

I.Rewrite the sentences.

1.- “She got up late and she missed the bus”

She said __________________________________________________ .

2.- “I won’t be here because I’m having a party”

My brother told me ___________________________________.

3.- “Open you suitcase, please”

The customs officer asked me __________________________.

4.- “We’ve just come back from Edinburgh”

We told them _______________________________________ .

5.- “Don’t shout!”

The teacher told the students ___________________________.

6.- “Do you want a single room?”

The receptionist asked me ____________________________________.

7.- “Where have you been?”

My friend asked me _________________________________________.

8.- “Please, help me.”

My neighbour asked me ______________________________________.

9.- “Do you smoke?”

She asked me ______________________________________________.

10.- “Don’t leave the luggage unattended”

The police officer told us ______________________________________.

11.- “Fasten your seat belts”

The flight attendant told the passengers _________________.

12.- “Would you mind not smoking?”

They told me ______________________________________.

II.WRITE THE CHANGES (REPORTED SPEECH)

Direct Speech                                                             Reported Speech

 

“He studies Spanish.”

“He is studying Spanish.”

“He has studied Spanish.”

“He has been studying Spanish”

“He studied Spanish”

“He was studying Spanish”

“He had studied Spanish.”

“He had been studying Spanish”

“He will study Spanish”

“He can study Spanish.”

“He may study Spanish.”

“He must / has to study Spanish”

Should,

Could,

Would,

Might,

Ought to,

Used to

I

We

My

Our

Here

 Now

Today

Tonight

Yesterday

Tomorrow

Next week

Next month

Last week

Last month

An hour ago

A week ago

A month ago

This

These

From

III. Rewrite direct speech in reported speech

 

1.- “I’ve never been abroad” Sarah said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

2.- “I arrived late so I missed my flight.” said Peter

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

3.- “My children are learning German at school” my uncle said.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

4.- “I can’t understand this film”, she said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

5.- “There was an accident here last year” she said.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

6.- “I’ll be in your group next term” John said.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

7.- “It’s really hot today” Lucy told me.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

IV. Write the sentences in the Reported Speech

1.- “He is cooking dinner for his friends at the moment.” said Tom.

……………………………………………………………………………………………

2.- “She is washing the dishes”,said Cindy.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

3.- “She is singing a song tomorrow” ,said George.

… …………………………………………………………………………………………

4.- “She is drinking my coke”, said Tom.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

5.- “t is raining in England now”, said Antony.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

6.- “We are going to the theatre next week” ,said Jim

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

7.- “The postman hasn’t come yet”, My father said

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

8.- “I found the book I lost morning”, the boy said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

9.- “I may go out with Jenny tomorrow”, Paul said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………….

10-. “I haven’t seen my family for a long time because I’m studying

abroad”, Laura said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

11.- “It’s hot today”, Linda said

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

12.- “I must have a computer to teach English online” said the teacher.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

13.- “Susan is washing her hair now” said her brother.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

14.- “We’ll phone as soon as we arrive at the hotel” my parents said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

15.- “I’ve hurt my ankle”, my sister said.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

16.- “My niece has lost her purse”, Tom said.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

17.- “I’m doing some homework, but I won’t be long,” said Mike.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

18.- “I won’t be here because I’m having a party,” said Jack.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

19.- “When I finish the book, I’m going to watch television,” said Jessica.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

20.- “I got up late and I missed the bus”, said Richard.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

21.- “I’ve lost the map and I don’t know the way,” said my brother.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..