I`ve learned a new way of life!

For the last six months. Melanie Black has been living in Kuala Haiti, a small village in the south of Sumatra. Together with six other volunteers from Save the Seas, a nonprofit charitable organization, Melanie has been working with an Indonesian marine research team to survey the ocean environment. She says it has been the most amazing experience of her life.

“I`m not usually adventurous”, Melanie told us, “but when I came across the Save the Seas ad in our local newspaper, I knew immediately it was for me. I started getting ready for the trip right away and I set off Indonesia   week later.”

“I` ve always been   interested   in the ocean. I`m going to study Marine Biology at college next semester , but all the same it was hard here at first. The local people aren`t accustomed to seeing Westerns, and they used to come over to our tents and stare at us. Things got better when we learned to speak the local language, and now they have really accepted us into their community. We`re invited to join in with all their activities- I`ve been to six weddings   since I arrived! And I`ve even taken up surfing!”

“All the volunteers are on a year off before starting college. We didn`t know each other before we arrived, but we all get along brilliantly- I feel like I`ve made friends for life!”

“This experience has really helped me a lot of confidence. I think taking a year off makes you more mature and independent you grow up so quickly. I `m really looking forward to going back to the   States  and starting college now!”

Grammar and Vocabulary

Simple Past

Forms

Affirmative

Subject + verb past simple

  • Melanie told us
  • When I came across the Save the Seas ad in our local newspaper.
  • I started getting ready for the trip right away.
  • I set off Indonesia   week later.
  • It was for me.
  • It was hard here at first.
  • They used to come over to our tents and stare at us.
  • Things got better when we learned to speak the local language.
  • I arrived!
  • We didn`t know each other before we arrived, but we all get along brilliantly-

Present Perfect

Forms

Affirmative

Subject + have/has+ Verb past participle

  • I` ve always been   interested   in the ocean
  • She says it has been the most amazing experience of her life.
  • They have really accepted us into their community.
  • I`ve been to six weddings 
  • I`ve even taken up surfing!
  • I`ve made friends for life!
  • This experience has really helped me a lot  .
  • It has given me   a lot of confidence.

 

Present Perfect Continuous

Forms

Affirmative

Subject + have/has+ been+ Verb ing

  • For the last six months. Melanie Black has been living in Kuala Haiti.
  • Melanie has been working with an Indonesian marine research team to survey the ocean environment.

Grammar extension activity

Read the following sentences,   and then write questions and answers. Use the corresponding tenses.

ever /eat/frog?  A: Have you ever eaten frog?B: Yes, I have.

 

Have/Has + Subject+ (ever) + Past Participle?Yes, Subject + have/has
When/eat/frog?  A: When did you eat frog?B: I ate frog when I was in France.

 

(Wh )+ did + Subject+ verb base?Subject + verb past simple +information

 

What/like? A: What was it like?B: It was really delicious.

 

(Wh )+ to be past + Subject+ verb base?Subject + to be past +information

 

Time Expressions

Simple Past Present Perfect
yesterdaytwo years ago

three months ago

two weeks ago

last week

last month

last days

in 2012

in 1998

when

all my lifesince January

since Summer

for five years

for six weeks

ever

never

just

already

 

 

Have you ever been to Indonesia?

No, I haven`t, but I went to Singapore ten years ago.

Did you go on vacation?

No, I went to visit my sister. She has lived there for five year now.

Did you like it?

I loved it. But my next trip is going to be to New Zealand. I have wanted to go there ever since I saw The Lord of the Rings.

 

IRREGULAR VERBS ACTIVITY

COMPLETE THE REQUIRED INFORMATION

SIMPLE PAST                                                   

BE  
BECOME  
BEGIN  
BREAK  
BRING  
BUILD  
BUY  
CAN  
CATCH  
CHOOSE  
COME  
DO  
DRINK  
DRIVE  
EAT  
FALL  
FEEL  
FIND  
FLY  
GET  
GET UP  
GO  
GROW  
HANG OUT  
HAVE  
HEAR  
HIDE  
KNOW  
LEAVE  
LEND  
LOSE  
MAKE  
MEET  
PUT  
QUIT  
READ  
RIDE  
RING  
RUN  
SAY  
SEE  
SELL  
SING  
SIT  
SPEAK  
SPEND  
STAND  
SWIM  
TAKE  
TELL  
THINK  
THROW  
UNDERSTAND  
WAKE UP  
WEAR  
WIN  
WRITE  

 

PAST PARTICIPLE

BE  
BECOME  
BEGIN  
BREAK  
BRING  
BUILD  
BUY  
CAN  
CATCH  
CHOOSE  
COME  
DO  
DRINK  
DRIVE  
EAT  
FALL  
FEEL  
FIND  
FLY  
GET  
GET UP  
GO  
GROW  
HANG OUT  
HAVE  
HEAR  
HIDE  
KNOW  
LEAVE  
LEND  
LOSE  
MAKE  
MEET  
PUT  
QUIT  
READ  
RIDE  
RING  
RUN  
SAY  
SEE  
SELL  
SING  
SIT  
SPEAK  
SPEND  
STAND  
SWIM  
TAKE  
TELL  
THINK  
THROW  
UNDERSTAND  
WAKE UP  
WEAR  
WIN  
WRITE