UNIT TEST SEPTEMBER

STUDY -VOCABULARY
TIME EXPRESSIONS
Used with the past simple
two weeks / years / minutes / hours ago
last year 7 week / month
yesterday
When I was young / a child / little/ five
In 1991
For + a completed period of time (two years/ three months / an hour)
Used with the present perfect simple
all my life
ever
never
How long
for + an unfinished period of time ( two years/ three months / a couple of hours…)
since + a point in time ( I was five /Christmas /the start of the vacations/Friday…)
TRANSITIVE AND INTRANSITIVE PHRASAL VERBS

Come across something
Come over ( to + a place – my house/ New York/ My school)
Get along (with someone)
Go back (to + a place BUT go back home)
Grow up
Join in ( with someone or something)
Look forward to + verb –ing / noun
Set off
Take something up / take up something

 
TRAVEL-RELATED EXPRESSIONS

buy souvenir
change money
do some sightseeing
go backpacking
hire a car
hitch a ride
make a reservation
pass through customs
take a train / bus
try food

 

USEFUL EXPRESSIONS

LINKERS

BEGINNING

At first
One day
Initially

MIDDLE

in the meantime
after a while
later that night
by that time
the next day
at that point
the following week
a few days later

END
at last
in the end

Examples
AT first I didn´t like travelling, but now I love it.
Initially I thought my money would last two months but I had to come home after only two weeks!
He didn´t want to go to the party but he changed his mind in the end.