STUDY -UNIT 5 TEST

TEST : UNIT 5

CONTENTS: VOCABULARY

CATEGORIES

PHRASAL VERBS (TRANSITIVE AND INTRANSITIVE VERBS)

TIME EXPRESSIONS (PAST-PRESENT PERFECT)

TRAVEL RELATED EXPRESSIONS

LINKERS

YOU CAN TAKE THE EXAMPLES FROM

ELEVATOR 3:

STUDENT`S BOOK PAGES .26 -27-28-29-30-31

WORKBOOK PAGES .22-23-24-25

PAGES 130-131 UNIT 4

ELEVATOR LIFT PAGES .11-12

ELEVATOR CD UNIT 4

Phrasal Verbs

  1. 1.    Come across : To find by accident
  2. 2.   Come over : To visit
  3. 3.   Get along: To have a good relationship
  4. 4.   Go back  : To return
  5. 5.   Grow up: To become more mature
  6. 6.   Join in : To participate
  7. 7.   Look forward to : To be excited about a future event
  8. 8.   Set off: To start a journey
  9. 9.   Take up : To start a hobby

 

Ö       “I`m not usually adventurous”, Melanie told us, “but when I 1came across the Save the Seas ad in our local newspaper, I knew immediately it was for me. I started getting ready for the trip right away and I 8 set off Indonesia   week later.”

Ö       The local people aren`t accustomed to seeing Westerns, and they used to 2 come over to our tents and stare at us.

Ö       I`ve been to six weddings   since I arrived! And 9 I`ve even taken up surfing!”

Ö       We didn`t know each other before we arrived, but we all 3 get along brilliantly

Ö       I think taking a year off makes you more mature and independent you 5 grow up so quickly.

 

Ö       We`re invited to 6 join in with all their activities.

 

Ö       I `m really 7 looking forward to 4 going back to the   States  and starting college now!”

 

Time Expressions

Simple Past Present Perfect
yesterdaytwo years agothree months ago

two weeks ago

last week

last month

last days

in 2012

in 1998

when

all my lifesince Januarysince Summer

for five years

for six weeks

ever

never

just

already

 

 

Have you ever been to Indonesia?

No, I haven`t, but I went to Singapore ten years ago.

Did you go on vacation?

No, I went to visit my sister. She has lived there for five year now.

Did you like it?

I loved it. But my next trip is going to be to New Zealand. I have wanted to go there ever since I saw The Lord of the Rings.

Travel – related expressions

Hitch a ride

Make a reservation

Try food

Rent a car

Pass through customs

Take a train

Go backpacking

Buy souvenirs

Do some sightseeing

Change money

Study these conversations

Can you practice the vocabulary in context?

 

Conversation 1

Wayne: Have you been waiting long?

Frank: Not too long. About  half an hour. How about you?

Wayne: I`ve been here for three hours.

Frank: Three hours! Oh, no! Where are you headed?

Wayne: Madrid. What about you?

Frank: I`m trying to get to Barcelona. My name`s Frank, by the way.

Wayne: Right, nice to meet you. I`m  Wayne.

Frank: So…have you been on the road for long?

Wayne: Yeah, I`m on a trip around Europe. I`ve been traveling for about three  

        months now.

Frank: No kidding? Which countries have you been to?

Wayne: France, Germany, Italy, Greece  and now Spain. It`s been great fun so far

Frank: Have you been hitching everywhere?

Wayne: No, I`ve been taking trains mostly. I`ve only hitchhiked a couple of times.

It`s tough. What about you?

Frank: I just arrived last week so I haven`t done much yet. But I have been

eating a lot. They sure know how to eat over there.

Wayne: You`re right there.

Frank: Which reminds me…I haven`t had anything since last night.

Wayne: No!? Have you tried Spanish omelet yet? You know…tortilla?

Frank: Is it good?

Wayne: You`ll find out! Come on…. There`s a service station over there. They`ll

         Have tortilla and we might even find somebody to give us a rid.

Frank: Cool!

 

Conversation 2

A: How long have you been travelling around Asia?

B: I`ve been travelling for about three months. I`ve visited six countries already.

A: Have you met many people?

B: Lots! I`ve been going to parties every night. What about you?

A: I`ve been here since Tuesday, but I`ve loved every minute. I`ve been doing lots of sightseeing and I`ve bought some great souvenirs

Read this story and identify the vocabulary in context.

 

 

Story 1

I`ve learned a new way of life!

For the last six months. Melanie Black has been living in Kuala Haiti, a small village in the south of Sumatra. Together with six other volunteers from Save the Seas, a nonprofit charitable organization, Melanie has been working with an Indonesian marine research team to survey the ocean environment. She says it has been the most amazing experience of her life.

“I`m not usually adventurous”, Melanie told  us, “but when I came across the Save the Seas ad in our local newspaper, I knew immediately it was for me. I started getting ready for the trip right away and I set off  Indonesia   week later.”

“I` ve always been   interested   in the ocean. I`m going to study Marine Biology at college next semester , but all the same it was hard here at first. The local people aren`t accustomed to seeing Westerns, and they used to come over to our tents and stare at us. Things got better when we learned to speak the local language, and now they have really accepted us into their community. We`re invited to join in with all their activities- I`ve been to six weddings   since I arrived! And I`ve even taken up surfing!”

“All the volunteers are on a year off before starting college. We didn`t know each other before we arrived, but we all get along brilliantly- I feel like I`ve made friends for life!”

“This experience has really helped me a lot of confidence. I think taking a year off makes you more mature and independent you grow up so quickly. I `m really looking forward to going back to the   States  and starting college now!”

Linkers

Study linkers in your student`s book elevator 3-unit 4-pages 30-31

Story 2:

Katie:  One day, while I was staying in a cabin in the Rockies, I heard a strange noise outside the door. At first I didn`t pay any attention, but after a while I heard the noise again. So I looked out the window and saw a bear! I was terrified! I didn´t know what to do, so I just sat frozen behind the door. In the meantime, I could hear the bear shuffling around outside the door. Gradually I plucked up the courage to get my cell phone from my backpack. Suddenly the door opened and the bear came into the cabin. At that point I was hysterical. I threw my cell phone at the bear and its head fell off! When I saw that, I screamed, but then I heard someone laughing. The bear was now standing up, with his head under its arm. By that time I wasn`t scared anymore, just very confused.

At last I realized that It wasn`t a bear at all, but another camper in a costume. He explained that they were having a fancy dress party later that night, and he invited me to go. In the end  I went to the party, but I left the park the very next day.