Vocabulary extension activities

A collocation is ( a verb +  a noun combination that is commonly used )

Example:

  • We say do some sightseeing, but not make some sightseeing.

I.Match the words and make travel-related expressions.

a)   Buy                   1…….. backpacking

b)  Change             2……..a car

c)   Do                    3………food

d)  Go                    4 ……… a train

e)   Hitch                5 ………souvenirs

f)   Make                6 ………through customs

g)   Pass                  7……….a ride

h)  Rent                 8………some sightseeing

i)    Take                 9……….. a reservation

j)   Try                   10……….  money

II. Use expressions the in activity I

Example:

Where are you headed?

This is related to: hitch a ride

1. Where is the cathedral?

This is related to:_____________

2. What`s the exchange rate?

This is related to:_____________

3. How much is this towel?

This is related to:_____________

III.Circle the correct word

 

A: How long have you been travelling around Asia?

B:I`ve been travelling for/since about three months. I `ve visited six countries already/yet.

A: Have you met many people?

B: Lots! I`ve been going to parties every night. What about you?

A: I`ve been here for /since Tuesday, but I`ve loved every minute! I`ve been doing/making lots of sightseeing and I`ve  tried /bought some great souvenirs.

Vocabulary extension

Linkers

  • A story usually has a beginning, a  middle and an end.
  • Look at the linkers in the box.

Beginning

Middle

End

At firstOne day

Initially

in the meantimeafter a while

later that night

by that time

the next day

at that point

the following week

a few days later

a few days passed

at lastin the end
  1. I.       Complete this anecdote with appropriate linkers

1)……………………, while I was traveling around Australia last year, I had a really scary experience. I wanted to try surfing, so I went to the beach and rented a board.

2)……………….., It was easy, but 3)……………… the waves started getting much bigger. 4)………………  decide to go back to shore, but suddenly a huge wave broke right on top of me. I was underwater for what seemed like hours

5)…………..  was sure I was going to drown. But gradually my board pulled me to the surface. i was able to breathe again! Then some other surfers helped me back to shore.

6)…………………… Iwas safe! I  was pretty shaken up, but 7)……………..

I went out surfing again!